Salute to Women: Brooke Sydnor Curran is a "Rising Star"

brooke_antarctica_marathonOur ACTion Hero, Brooke Sydnor Curran, is a rising star! 

Brooke was awarded the "Rising Star" award at the annual Salute to Women Awards. She was one of 11 incredible women who received awards on March 18. 

The "Rising Star" award is given to women who have less than a total of five years of volunteer service in Alexandria who has made significant contributions to the well-being of the women in the Alexandria community, particularly through community service or other volunteer projects. 

In less than five years, Brooke has done amazing things for Alexandria through the RunningBrooke Fund of ACT for Alexandria:

  • Raised $190,000 for local nonprofits
  • Ran in marathons on all continents, all 50 states and in five world marathon majors
  • Upped her goal to one million and 100 marathons!

Here's more about her story:

Brooke Sydnor Curran is a Alexandria, VA mom and now-marathoner, who 15 years ago, ran 10 miles per week just to get out of the house. When 9/11 happened, Brooke realized the precariousness of life and decided to start her ‘bucket list’. Running a marathon seemed like a logical place to start. So mad after a sub-par first-time effort, Brooke primarily focused on speed and then made it her goal to place and/or win her Age Group in every run she raced. In time however, her spirit was left wanting more. So in May of 2009, she founded RunningBrooke and personally committed to running a marathon on each of the 7 continents, in each of the 50 states, and the 5 world marathon majors (DC too) -- a marathon a month -- to encourage others to get involved and make a difference too. She pays for 100% of her travel expenses and fees so 100% of donations funds proven Northern Virginia charities. 

The other winners were:

  • Erika Kleiner:  Women's Health and Safety Advocate Award 
  • Karyn Moran:  Youth Community Services Award 
  • Elizabeth Todd:  Leadership in Business and Career Development Award 
  • Monica Reid:  The Marian Van Landingham Legislation and Public Policy Award 
  • Becky Davies and Faye Gunn:  Making a Difference Award 
  • Robin Wallin: The Vola Lawson Award 
  • Nina Tisara:  Donna Bergheim Cultural Affairs Award 


Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • You may embed videos from the following providers bliptv, vimeo, youtube. Just add the video URL to your textarea in the place where you would like the video to appear, i.e.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <iframe> <object> <embed>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.